Adventist Healthcare
Home » News » News Detail


San surgeons first female double for NSW leadership of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

In a significant first for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) NSW leadership, San ear, nose and throat surgeon Associate Professor Payal Mukherjee and San orthopaedic surgeon Dr Michelle Atkinson are the first females to jointly lead following their election as Chair and Deputy Chair of the NSW Committee

The College of Surgeons is the leading advocate for surgical standards, professionalism and surgical education in Australia and New Zealand.

The College encourages ongoing development maintenance of expertise and lifelong learning of over 7000 surgeons and 1300 surgical trainees and international medical graduates across nine surgical specialities including ear nose and throat, orthopaedic, cardiothoracic, urology and vascular surgery.

Acknowledging that several other San surgeons play key roles within various College committees Associate Prof Mukherjee says it is the first time two females have been elected into both positions of the NSW Committee.

“I’ve always been very proud to be part of a diverse state committee but it’s amazing that for the first time, the Committee have chosen two females to lead.”

Associate Professor Mukherjee is also a proud RACS committee member of the section of Academic Surgery and loves to encourage surgical research at the San.

San orthopaedic surgeon Dr Michelle Atkinson was elected Deputy Chair of the NSW Committee.

“I feel excited at the opportunity to continue to be part of a team which reflects the diversity of NSW surgeons and advocates for improvements in health and lifestyle through surgery and for surgeons and junior doctors.”

Other San surgeons active in College activities include San Urologist Associate Professor Henry Woo, San ENT surgeon Professor Raymond Sacks, vascular surgeon Dr Pecky De Silva, and Mr John Crozier.



Back to News